Saturday, 9 March 2013

Google removed your blog - don't panic straight away

Google (Blogger) has on about 4 occasions now put up a message saying that it has removed my blog!  After some major stress I have discovered that they do this when there is unusual traffic to your site apparently with the motive of protecting your blog!

The best thing to do if this happens to you is first and foremost to log in to your Blogger Dashboard.  I used to do that by clicking the little B at the top of my home page but that isn't there of course if you get the removal message.  So I have now put my dashboard onto my favourites bar.  When you do click on it, it will ask you to log in and then will ask for a captcha to be completed plus your password again.  On each occasion this has restored the blog - which can be seen by the world again.

This is an absolute pain - particularly if you are in the middle of a linky party.  Once I was off the air for almost 12 hours because it happened around bed time and I didn't know until the next morning.  Arggghh!

If you ever get that message, it would be fantastic if you emailed me to let me know!

I guess I shouldn't be too critical of Google and Blogger - it is a free service after all!

Pin It


  1. Wow Carole, thanks for the tip!

  2. Hi Carole! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I love your tag line... Of a certain age. I'll be stopping by again these are great tips.

    See you later cousin. ;)


  3. Thanks for the tip Carole.. I read your bloggin tips quite often and find them useful. Can you help me ? I want to know if there is a way where I could get the emails of the GoogleFriendConnect followers:) Thanks in advance


Comments are welcome. I will answer questions as soon as I can.